Department of Anaesthesiology

Asoct. Prof. Dr. Nasir Uddin Ahmed

The department of anaesthesiology started in 1972 at the old premises of R.I.H.D in the Shaheed Sohrawardi Hospital Complex, headed by Dr. Miss Harry Macnab with only two manpower. In 1973 Dr. Professor Abdur Rahim D/A Joined as superintendent and anesthetist subsequently following doctors joined in the department and enriched it
1. Dr. Heury from USA
2. Dr. Margarate from U.K
3. Dr. Nurul Islam
4. Dr. Jaheda Begum
5. Dr. Monwar Hossain
In 1977 Dr. Miss Macsab left the hospital and in 1979 Dr. Noor Jahan Khanam joined and she was the head of the department till 1993. After that for the last 17 years the department has been headed by
1. Dr. Professor Khalikur Rahman
2. Dr. Professor Dilip Kumar Das
3. Dr. Professor Abdul Mannan
4. Dr. Professor M. Majibur Rahman
5. Dr. Proffessor M.C. Paul
6. Dr. Md. Sirajul Islam (in charge)
7. Dr. Professor AKM Azizul Haque
At present the manpower status of the department is as follows 1. Professor - 1
2. Associate Professor - 1
3. Consultant - 2
4. Anesthetist - 4
5. Medical Officer - 8 (Assistant surgeon)

Doctors of this department

Morning session

Activities: In 1972 the hospital started with only one operation theater. Subsequently it has traversed a long time of forty (40) years and the departmental activity has got a very big momentum. About twenty five (25) thousand operation are being done annually. Now the department is running with ten (10) operation theaters. Emergency operation theatre – 1
1. Routine Dirty operation theatre – 2
2. Routine clean operation theatre – 7